curvylou

textiles · exploration · misadventure

Too busy to post

2 Comments

Say, wha??

Yeah, didn’t think the first week would be this crazy-busy. I thought there would be more naps. Mostly, I’ve been working on this:

Corey's fluff (1)

That’s a good seven hours cranking my drum carder, Matilda. And after meeting Matilda, that fluff met Marigold, my Lendrum wheel, and after a nine-hour hookup, became THIS:

custard 025

A two-hour plying rematch a few days later resulted in the birth of a healthy (and whopping) 650-yard, 2-ply skein:

custard 043custard 044

(Talk about an exercise in patience. To ply, you hold two or more yarns together, treadle to a specific count—in this case, fifteen—then let fly onto your wheel only to… repeat 17thousandmillion times.)

THIS is 650 yards of a hand-spun, two-ply Merino/alpaca hand-prepped to create a gradient from light grey to dark brown. For my massage therapist Corey. With whom I am trading for massage.

I would love to talk about this more. But I am heading out to a doctor’s appointment, and then to weaving lab, and then to see Corey, and THEN I am getting on Bart to go meet a friend and have Phat Matt’s for dinner and spend the night and go to Mama’s for breakfast and go to the East Bay Depot for Creative Reuse.  Screw all categories, links, and tags.

Maybe when I get home, I’ll get that nap.

 

ETA: Links and tags; plus, Corey is a superb therapist, and very professional.  If you’re in the San Francisco Bay Area, I recommend him. Also plus, Phat Matt’s is SO good they don’t have a closing time. In other words, they close when they run out of ribs. (I probably shouldn’t be telling you this.)

2 thoughts on “Too busy to post

  1. That is impressive work. Also, I love the color gradation of the yarn. When I lived in the Bay Area I worked as a Dyer. I am guessing I know where you go to school….. A good place for textiles. I love the center for Creative Recycling your post brought me back to another lifetime. Enjoy your massage and that nap too!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the comment and compliment, Annevivid! I’m a new-ish spinner, and this was my first go at a gradient blend; I’m happy with how it came out. I screwed up the name of the East Bay Center… it’s actually the Depot for Creative Reuse, so I corrected my blog and added a link if you want to revisit more memories from that other lifetime.
    And I did get that nap… eventually. (:

    Like

You know you want to leave a comment.

