curvylou

textiles · exploration · misadventure

Alive: And as Well as Can Be Expected

5 Comments

San Francisco Mission mural

Asher, Oh my god oh my god I just got your giant letter! Ten pages of wealth! I feel like a drunk. Waitaminite I am a drunk.

Love,
Robin

 
 

Hi again, Sweetie.

I burned through that ten-pager in about ten minutes. I considered reading a page a day and savoring it, but who am I kidding, I’m an addict.

It’s so good to hear from you, to hear of your adventures, and to know that, while you’re still on that rickety train ride from hell, you’re ALIVE and at bottom, you are OKAY.

More soon, I need to re-read this bad puppy. If I can get it back from Matt.

Love,
Robin
* * *

A Note From Asher About the Blog:
I fully support your sharing your experiences with a wider audience. They are so valuable to me and I can see the good in spreading them around. If for some reason you feel that any of my replies to you would also serve, feel free to exerpt… any part of my sorry-ass story.

In my second letter to him, I felt it was important to privately let Asher know I was posting these, and to give him the option to stop them in their tracks. His generous reply relieves me of concerns I might be sharing in a way that makes him uncomfortable, so I’ll continue posting more Letters to Asher for the time being.

Here’s a list of the series so far:
There Isn’t An Easier Way Off This Ride
What?
F-bombs Galore
Sobriety At Last (Even if Temporary)
Last Drink. Ever.
 
curvylou

(For the rest of my Letters to Asher series, click here.)

5 thoughts on “Alive: And as Well as Can Be Expected

  1. Yes I definitely see a book have you started it yet?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s a really neat concept—letters about your recovery from the perspective of many years sober to someone in early recovery. And maybe adding to that contrasting excerpts from Asher’s letters on early sobriety. A truly unique dialogue.

    I’ve read a lot of sober literature, and what seems to be missing is what happens after early sobriety. Asher is lucky to have you as a pen pal. And I’m definitely glad you have lots to say!

    Like

    • Thanks, Ella! I like that it was so spontaneous. I wrote the first letter, then thought, “Wait a minute… this would be good blog…” I also really like your idea of excerpts from Asher’s letters, as he’s given me permission. I’m looking forward to delving more into what early sobriety was like. Man, was THAT a time. Thanks for your kind words and great feedback!

      Like

You know you want to leave a comment.

