curvylou

textiles · exploration · misadventure

Beauty Shots

6 Comments

Naturally dyed handspun yarn. Dyes used are bougainvillea, rosemary, coffee, yellow dock, and lichens. Mordants are alum/cream of tartar, brass, copper, iron, gelatin, soy, and urine.

Just a series of shots I’ve collected whilst photographing dye samples over the past few months. Cormo wool handspun yarn dyed with coffee, rosemary, bougainvillea, yellow dock, and lichens, using alum/cream of tartar, brass, copper, iron, gelatin, soy, and urine mordants. These are so happy-making!

Naturally dyed handspun yarn. Dyes used are bougainvillea, rosemary, coffee, yellow dock, and lichens. Mordants are alum/cream of tartar, brass, copper, iron, gelatin, soy, and urine.Naturally dyed handspun yarn. Dyes used are bougainvillea, rosemary, coffee, yellow dock, and lichens. Mordants are alum/cream of tartar, brass, copper, iron, gelatin, soy, and urine.Naturally dyed handspun yarn. Dyes used are bougainvillea, rosemary, coffee, yellow dock, and lichens. Mordants are alum/cream of tartar, brass, copper, iron, gelatin, soy, and urine.Naturally dyed handspun yarn. Dyes used are bougainvillea, rosemary, coffee, yellow dock, and lichens. Mordants are alum/cream of tartar, brass, copper, iron, gelatin, soy, and urine.Naturally dyed handspun yarn. Dyes used are bougainvillea, rosemary, coffee, yellow dock, and lichens. Mordants are alum/cream of tartar, brass, copper, iron, gelatin, soy, and urine.Naturally dyed handspun yarn. Dyes used are bougainvillea, rosemary, coffee, yellow dock, and lichens. Mordants are alum/cream of tartar, brass, copper, iron, gelatin, soy, and urine.Naturally dyed handspun yarn. Dyes used are bougainvillea, rosemary, coffee, yellow dock, and lichens. Mordants are alum/cream of tartar, brass, copper, iron, gelatin, soy, and urine.

6 thoughts on “Beauty Shots

  1. Lou, I missed reading your posts and seeing your beautiful pictures for about three months’- I have been down, out and downright unfaithful to reading. I hope to read more and keep up with your posts in the future.
    Susie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Susie! I have thought about you, and wondered how you are, since I hadn’t seen you in a while. You are one of the first people to follow me and comment here. I hope you’re doing ok—better than ok! Nice to see you back. (:

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t started dying my own fibers yet, but you give me hope that I won’t fail!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These are wonderful! I’ve been lurking, and decided it’s time to say hello — I’m also exploring natural dyeing and live in SF! In fact, I’m really looking forward to trying to reduplicate your fantastic bougainvillea results. 😊

    Like

    • Hi, Rosa, thanks for saying hello! For some reason, getting a hello from a lurker is extra fun. I hope you do try the bougainvillea. If you do, I’d LOVELOVELOVE to hear about your results. I plan to give it another go myself, with some finer fibers, but my bougainvilleas are dormant for winter, so I have to wait until they bloom again. ):

      Like

You know you want to leave a comment.

