curvylou

textiles · exploration · misadventure

Honestly

7 Comments

020

020 (2)All I wanted to do was stuff a pillow case.

All I wanted to do was remove the pillowcase from this 1$ ugly piece of crap I bought at Thrift Town so I could use the internal pillow form to stuff my new rumpling.

But it turned out that the pillow form was sewn into the seams of the external pillow case, so that when I cut off the pillow case, I had these weird side seams of blue pillow material that I couldn’t get rid of.

Sorry for the shitty picture, but I'd lost my mind by this point.

Sorry for the shitty picture, but I’d lost my mind by this point.

Oh, yeah, PLUS the pillow form itself was full of accidental holes by this time. I swear I tried to be careful, but I was more like Edward Scissorhands than I care to admit.

So then I thought, since the thing was already so mangled, that maybe I didn’t need the (ripped and holey) cover around the pillow form, I could just use the plain pillow form, so I started cutting that off too.

It just got uglier from there. I roll my eyes at myself. I can’t decide if I love it or I hate it when I do things like this. I mean, it sure would be great if I just knew what I was doing sometimes.

017

7 thoughts on “Honestly

  1. That poor pillow looks like a wild animal got to it! (I mean this jokingly, BTW.) I had something similar happen and ended up sewing a new pillow form with an old sheet & stuffing it with the filling & made a separate cover for it. It was a semi-successful sewing project (it’s rare for me to have even a semi-successful sewing project); I didn’t sew the zipper in very well – it’s ugly but functional. Thank you for this post; I feel better knowing there’s someone else out there who has projects go sideways.

    Like

    • Lol! You just made me feel so much better! I felt exactly like a wild animal, going at that pillow form and trying to make it work while failing miserably. I am completely cracking up right now. Thank you!

      Like

  2. I laughed out loud at your adventure with a pillow form. What struck me was the bargain aspect– going for an inexpensive short cut that ends up costing more time than it was worth, especially when one tries to get creative with the mistake. Can’t tell you how many times I have done just that. Best wishes for a successful project!

    Like

    • Dr.E, I’m so glad you laughed out loud. That’s the best response I could get to a post like this, where I’m highlighting my own absurdity. I see so many blogs that are SO picture perfect and the authors never seem to make mistakes. I think the mistakes can be hysterical, and they make us more human.

      Like

      • Absolutely! We all need to laugh at ourselves sometimes. I make so many mistakes that I would be nothing but a scowling shrew if I didn’t see the humor or irony in those errors. If more of us shared our mishaps, the world would be a jollier place! Keep up your wonderful work. And thanks for sharing your mistakes. They humanize all of us. 😉 ❤️

        Like

  3. Pingback: Addition to the Family | curvylou

You know you want to leave a comment.

